Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I wish they didn't treat me like I dont know anything. -vent-

Posted by on Dec. 3, 2011 at 12:02 AM
  • 2 Replies

So I've been working in a daycare setting for about 4 years now. I'm 23 & I've been babysitting since I was 15. I know how to take care of pretty much every age group, I'm certified in CPR/First Aid, I took my CDA test last month & I am very confident that I passed.

I worked at one center on post for 3.5 years but due to SO & I minimizing down to one car we decided to try to get me transfered to the daycare on post closer to the house, I got on over there with no problems.

So they have me in a preschool room, I'm in there every day from 2-6. I'm so irritated because the lead acts like I've never worked in a daycare setting before. I told her that I was pretty much the assistant lead at the center I was at before, I did a lot of the lead's responsibilities because she was out often. I know how to open/close a room, I know how to speak to the parents in a nice, caring, professional manner, I know how to deal with behavioral children, I know how to fill out all the forms, I know how to do classroom planning, I know fifty million games/activities/songs to do with kids. But yet she wont let me do anything! I asked if I could start helping out with observations or planning & she says no.

I didn't do my flippin CDA just to do nothing. I ENJOY doing planning & stuff like that. I just hate feeling like I went from being an assitant lead to nothing. Its like nothing I do is good enough for her & everything has to be done HER way. She told me that if I had an idea of how to do something we could try it out & see how it worked, but she wont ever even give me a chance. The ONLY thing she's let me done so far is put up a tooth brush chart so parents can see that the children are actually getting their teeth brushed. Thats it.