Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Is anyone a Pharmacy Tech or an actual Pharmacist?

Posted by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 9:21 PM
  • 28 Replies

I am looking for work and was thinking about this?  What did it take for you to become certified?  Do you make good money?  I have applied at Walgreens and they will help me get certified, but what does that entail?

by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 9:21 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
shivasgirl
by Platinum Member on Feb. 8, 2012 at 9:23 PM

I have been a tech for 25 years...i hate it, i wouldnt recommend it to anyone...the pay isnt what they tell you it i, the hours are f8d up and it is a really thankless job

xXSoSincereXx
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 9:27 PM

where do you work?  

Quoting shivasgirl:

I have been a tech for 25 years...i hate it, i wouldnt recommend it to anyone...the pay isnt what they tell you it i, the hours are f8d up and it is a really thankless job

blondie.mom
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 9:29 PM
I'm in the process of studying for my ptcb exam, which will certify me to be a tech. I only want to do this because I will be going to school to be a pharmacist and want the experience.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
miss_lisa
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 9:31 PM
I did it for a few months since the state I lived in gave you 12 months to get certified from the time you start working.

I hated it. It was terrible, I worked customer service for years but this was a whole different level. People were CRAZY.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
LiesLiesLies
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 9:32 PM
My friend had a 4 year degree in Chemistry plus 4 years of pharm school.

I believe you can do a 2 year undergraduate and then 4 years of Pharm school after taking and passing the PCAT.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
nancym3
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 9:34 PM