Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Carseat Mamas

Posted by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 9:52 PM
  • 7 Replies

Ok so im looking at sites and my head is just spinning with so much info so thought id just ask here as yall have the info in your minds and can tell me. 


My sister and Half brother Both put there 4 year olds and 3 year olds in a carseat but do NOT use the belts that come with the carseat. they actually took them out of the seat completely and just put the adult seat belt accross the chest. I know this is not right and im assuming its not legal? what are the laws on this as they both do not think im right and both say they are in the right. Im in WA state if it matters

by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 9:52 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
ilovemykids323
by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 9:53 PM

 some carseats turn into booster seats. most states kids have to be 4 yrs of age and 40 lbs. I'll see if i can find the site that has every state listed.

ilovemykids323
by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 9:54 PM
ABOUT US |CONTACT US

VIDEO

 

Washington's New Child Restraint Law

Effective June 1, 2007, children less than eight years old must be restrained in child restraint systems, unless the child is four feet nine inches or taller. A child who is eight years old or older, or four feet nine inches or taller, must be properly restrained either with the motor vehicle's safety belt or an appropriately fitting child restraint system. Children under thirteen years old must be transported in rear seats where it is practical to do so.

The fine for improperly restrained children in motor vehicles is at least $112 per child.

For more information on choosing the safest seat for your child, please call 1-800-BUCK-L-UP toll-free.

Washington's Child Restraint Law

The law was the work of a bi-partisan legislative effort spurred on by a Walla Walla parent, Autumn Alexander Skeen.

Autumn lost her four-year-old son, Anton Skeen in a rollover collision. Anton was using a seat belt in accordance with state law at the time. Yet, because seat belts are built for adult bodies, he slid out of his seat belt and was thrown from the vehicle and crushed in the collision.

On June 1, 2007, Washington's revised Child Restraint Law went into effect. This law, also known as the Anton Skeen Act, is one of the strongest child restraint laws in the nation. It requires the use of booster seats for older children. In 2000, Washington was the first state in the nation to pass this type of law.

KEY PROVISIONS of Washington's Child Restraint law:

. Children under 13 years old be transported in the back seat where it is practical to do so.

. Children up to their 8th birthday, unless they are 4'9" tall (which ever comes first), must ride in a child restraint. (For example a child car seat, booster seat, vest, or other restraint that is federally approved for use in the car.)

. The restraint system must be used correctly according to the car seat AND vehicle manufacturer's instructions.

. Vehicles equipped with lap-only seat belts are exempt from the requirement to use a booster seat.

. Children 8-years of age or at least 4'9" who wear a seat belt MUST use it correctly (never under the arm or behind the back) or continue to use a booster.

Shoulder belts must be used with booster seats at all times! A child is exempt from the booster seat law requirement, only when a child weighs 40 pounds or more and is in a vehicle with lap-only belts.

NOTE: Doctors and safety experts recommend that children ride in booster seats until the lap and shoulder belt fit right, usually when they are at least 4'9" tall, or around 8 years old.

Click here for full text of the Anton Skeen Law in (.pdf)

Click here for information on other state's booster seat laws.

 

ilovemykids323
by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 9:56 PM

http://depts.washington.edu/booster/anton_skeen_bill.html

thats were i got the information from. :)

cowgirlsmommy
by Gold Member on Feb. 12, 2012 at 9:57 PM
It must be properly fitting and used according to manufacturers instructions so it could be illegal. It's very dangerous either way.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
TheMrs407
by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 10:00 PM

I'm almost certian it's not legal.  Most states require you to use it properly.

C8linVilla
by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 10:02 PM

thank you ladies idk how much half brothers DD weights but my sisters DD is tiny and only 28 pounds. 

C8linVilla
by on Feb. 12, 2012 at 10:04 PM

So children under 13 must ride in the back seat unless there is no back seat? My mom has her 3,5,7,and 11 year olds ride in the front seat. 

Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)