• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Would you come to my house?

Posted by on Mar. 4, 2012 at 10:53 PM
  • 31 Replies

Before having children I was a global makeup artist for a well known luxury cosmetics brand.  This meant i represented the brand traveling around the world for special events, promos, endorsements, fashion shows, magazine shoots ect.  I was always traveling. I took a step back when I got married an limitd my travel within the line to the US only...only occasionaly going over seas.  When I found out I was pregnant I knew that, though I LOVED my job it would not fit in to the life of a new mother.  That is when i quit (though i do still get contracted by the line for shoots/runway in the NYC area) and started my own small business.  I provide makeup and hairstyling (as wel as now fashion styling) for bridal parties, photo shoots, special events of all kinds, and also have a list of clinets who call me for my services just for a night out.  I also have been asked to do one on one as well as group makeup lessons, and make up parties. 

For a few monthes now my husband and I have been talking about ways to expand my business.  I have become busier and more requested than I could handle myself, so at this time I have 3 other artists and stylists who I take with me on bigger jobs, or send in my place.  We had discussed finding space to open a small makeup studio/salon where I can do trials, and host lessons, parties, and makeup events...or where people can come by appoint to have their makeup one/hair styled (no cut or color) or the option for us to come to their home as we do now.