Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Someone please settle this argument

Posted by on May. 6, 2012 at 9:49 AM
  • 79 Replies
So last night we are sitting around our campfire and about 11:30 a friend of ours walks up to our site with her newborn baby.... He's aprox a month old and she sits down and we are all talking and next thing I know she whips out a beer and cracks it open..... Ok so some moms just need to cut loose a little I understand but with a newborn? So that was the first debate we had when she left. Next debate is as we were conversing she proceded to tell my cousin about her nursing difficulties and what not.... I didn't nurse my kids due to personal issues so I'm not an expert but I thought alcohol absorbed in your system and could be in your breast milk if you drank? I questioned her about it and she said one or 2 beers wouldn't make a difference. I think I made her mad questioning her because she got up and left. Who's right????
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on May. 6, 2012 at 9:49 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Tigress22304
by Silver Member on May. 6, 2012 at 9:52 AM

uhm yeah the beer will get into her breastmilk....and it could affect the baby.....you can ask ANY doctor that question

Jaxsonsmama2009
by Silver Member on May. 6, 2012 at 9:52 AM
There is nothing wrong with enjoying a responsible 1-2 drinks around your kids. As far as the breast feeding thing, there are safe ways to drink and breast feed, but with her already having issues I would think it would be more complicated for her to follow the 'rules' on that.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
sandra_t00
by ChaChi on May. 6, 2012 at 9:53 AM
3 moms liked this