Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Someone please settle this argument

Posted by   + Show Post
So last night we are sitting around our campfire and about 11:30 a friend of ours walks up to our site with her newborn baby.... He's aprox a month old and she sits down and we are all talking and next thing I know she whips out a beer and cracks it open..... Ok so some moms just need to cut loose a little I understand but with a newborn? So that was the first debate we had when she left. Next debate is as we were conversing she proceded to tell my cousin about her nursing difficulties and what not.... I didn't nurse my kids due to personal issues so I'm not an expert but I thought alcohol absorbed in your system and could be in your breast milk if you drank? I questioned her about it and she said one or 2 beers wouldn't make a difference. I think I made her mad questioning her because she got up and left. Who's right????
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on May. 6, 2012 at 9:49 AM
Replies (21-30):
CABZS
by Ruby Member on May. 6, 2012 at 10:05 AM
1 mom liked this

Why the issue drinking w/the baby or kids around?

She isn't getting drunk, no big deal.

As for drinking and breast feeding, it doesn't go into the system right away & does eventually leave the system, plus she may have pumped a bit already.

There are safe ways to have a drink or 2 and still breastfeed.

CABZS
by Ruby Member on May. 6, 2012 at 10:08 AM
1 mom liked this

Wrong.

Maybe if more had proper  education & advice more would breastfeed or stick w/breastfeeding.

Quoting GraceHudson:

You should not bf when alcohol is involved.

myperfect4inok
by on May. 6, 2012 at 10:08 AM
Quit being so judgemental.
Many doctors recommend a beer while bf
Maybe the new mom was have a hard time a it was suggested she drink beer.
As for the drinking she had one beer not a case.