Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Boundaries - what are they and how to do you set them?

Posted by on Aug. 4, 2012 at 12:00 PM
  • 11 Replies

I wasn't really raised as a child.  My gram taught me to cook and thats the one thing in life that I can think of being "taught". The rest of life I've just sort of figured out as I went along.  I think it makes life a lot more work and there is so much that I don't get.

One thing I'm just learning about is "boundaries".  I understand fences in real life. But in your emotional world?? How do you set them? And what are they?

Do you just walk up to your loved one and say "I don't find this acceptable and won't allow it to happen to my person"?  Thats doesn't seem like it would work and like you are going through life giving ulitmatums.

Can I get some advice from some wise women please!

by on Aug. 4, 2012 at 12:00 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
gatorswife1401
by Member on Aug. 4, 2012 at 12:12 PM
I don't really see things as boundaries it more or less what I feel comfortable doing. And I feel that as you age some things change so just because you didn't feel comfortable with it before you may be ok now. And it like giving out ulitmatums it more like making compromises. But that's my peronal thought on it
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
tristansmom74
by on Aug. 4, 2012 at 12:14 PM

I was thinking more in boundaries as to what you allow people to do to you. I was told that you have to set boundaries in life and let others know what they are. Sounds like and invisible electric fence and they only find it when they hit it.

Quoting gatorswife1401: