Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

I'm curious what you ladies think of this article

Posted by on Nov. 25, 2012 at 12:33 AM
  • 26 Replies

It's kind of long so I'm cutting to the chase a little bit:

reader's question

Dear Doc, 

I have been a student of "The System" for about six months now, and my romantic life has improved immeasurably. It has also taught me a great deal about where I've gone wrong in the past. Looking back on past failures, and looking forward in the hope of avoiding future failures, I have a question about one of your key concepts: Challenge.

I think I understand how to apply Challenge in the first sixty days and beyond that into the first four or five months of a relationship. (For the first sixty days, keep 'em guessing if you like them, then, keep them guessing about how much you like them). But what happens to Challenge once the man and woman both acknowledge the relationship as serious and long-term? What happens after the "I love you"s have been said? What happens after you get married or just move in together? 

There always comes a point, after we move in together, where I lose all concept of Challenge and things become predictable and stale, or I lose whatever sense of mystery I might have had. That's when her Interest Level starts to sink.

My question to you, Doc, is: what are some examples of how Challenge can be applied over a long-term relationship?

How do you remain mysterious or aloof when you're living under the same roof? How do you get her to continue chasing you, if you're waking up in the same bed together month after month? 

doc love's answer

Hi Willis,