Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

parenting/relationships between parents and children

Posted by on Dec. 5, 2012 at 4:36 PM
  • 7 Replies

hello everyone, my name is katie and im doing a paper in my sociology class. i was wondering if u could answer a few questions for me?

1) how has parenting changed over the years in the american culture? mexican culture?

2) what are the different typs of relationships parents and children hold in the american culture? mexican culture?

gardening

by on Dec. 5, 2012 at 4:36 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
JulyBabies
by Platinum Member on Dec. 5, 2012 at 4:51 PM

I'm no expert and I can't speak for Mexican culture, but I think parents in the US are less involved than they were in previous generations. I think mainly due to the breakdown of the nuclear family and more women working.

mygirls221925
by on Dec. 5, 2012 at 5:48 PM

okay....thank you

iejoseph361
by on Dec. 6, 2012 at 1:14 AM
As American I wouldn't say parenting has changed more that the "parents" are younger less mature & responsible less involved.
There are a few relationships there's the parents who try to be their kid(s) friend and the parent who are the quote normal parent. The relationship where u children respect ur authority as a parental figure.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
bamababe1975
by Stephanie on Dec. 6, 2012 at 12:29 PM

Hi Katie! You might also want to ask about this on the Latinas group:

Reina13
by Gold Member on Dec. 8, 2012 at 10:14 AM

Hi Katie! Welcome.

I would definitely ask this in the Mamas Latinas group like a previous poster suggested.

Enjoy a Coffee Break Every Tuesday with Us!

mygirls221925
by on Jan. 4, 2013 at 1:51 PM

thank you everyone!!family in the van

NDADanceMom
by on Jan. 4, 2013 at 2:43 PM

Quoting mygirls221925: