Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

paralegal or attorney

Posted by on Dec. 27, 2012 at 6:11 PM
  • 29 Replies

anybody know anything about this field or what the difference is between the two?

by on Dec. 27, 2012 at 6:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
JustMe0326
by Platinum Member on Dec. 27, 2012 at 6:18 PM
1 mom liked this
I have a degree in paralegal studies. But I am far from an attorney. A paralegal is a lawyers assistant. We draft all the paperwork, take most of the phone calls, etc. Basically we do everything except actually go to court to represent someone. And we only make about a quarter of the money a lawyer makes.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
TigOlBitties
by Bronze Member on Dec. 27, 2012 at 6:20 PM
In my opinion if you're going to go through all the trouble to become just a paralegal you might as well be the attorney.

I honestly don't know why someone would strive to be a paralegal... unless they haven't gotten a college degree or something. I guess it's less schooling? But it's also a lot of work for a lot less money than an attorney.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Mommy4000
by Gold Member on Dec. 27, 2012 at 6:23 PM

Depends on who you work for. It can mean anything from a high paid secretary, to the lawyers right hand, or even presenting some things in court in the attorneys absence. The biggest difference is schooling and pay, obviously. There are things a paralegal can't be involved in because they are not an attorney.

Treymama
by on Dec. 27, 2012 at 6:41 PM