Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Would you take your child out of school...

Posted by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 6:34 AM
  • 23 Replies
If you heard from a reliable source that there was a threat made about something happening in a school in your town, and you had the option to take your children out of school that day..would you?

I work in a school and we were given a heads up about a threat made by a man to do something like what happened in CT. My DS was home sick with DH, but my DD was at school. I texted DH and told him what I knew and asked what he thought about picking her up. He asked my opinion and I flat out said if her teacher wasnt a moron, I would probably keep her in school. I know how aware I am of my surroundings, but DDs teacher is another story. So he swung by and dismissed her right before lunch. She missed half a day. She is in 4th grade. When DH was having her dismissed, HER teacher was walking by so the secretary asked her to grab DD when she got to the lunch room...her teacher said "oh is she 3rd grade?". Umm, no, she is in your class....this just confirmed to me and DH that DD is not really super cared for while in this woman's classroom.