Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

I don't think my kids are safe at daycare

Posted by on Jan. 13, 2013 at 10:23 PM
  • 15 Replies
1 mom liked this
I have never used a daycare of any type before and now I have to. In my town there are only two options and I chose the best one, but I feel like anyone could walk in and hurt or steal the kids. There is nearly no security. After the school shooting and all, I'm just not at ease. My town is small at 1200 ppl and 65 students were pulled out to homeschool after the shooting.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 13, 2013 at 10:23 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
coolmommy2x
by Ruby Member on Jan. 13, 2013 at 10:31 PM
The daycare my kids went to for the longest time didn't have any security. But, it was on a secluded street and as soon as you pulled in, the staff knew you were there. It was a small population daycare on 14 beautiful acres. Never felt unsafe there.

That said, DD went to kindergarten for 1/2 day and to a daycare for the other 1/2. They bhad a security code on the door but if another adult came in behind you, you wold hold the door assuming that person had a kid there. You could've easily let in a killer and wouldn't know it.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
ihave1
by on Jan. 13, 2013 at 10:37 PM
1 mom liked this

Then dont put them in there

dlock25
by Bronze Member on Jan. 13, 2013 at 10:44 PM
What types of security are you talking about? Armed guards? Mine had procedures they had to follow but no actual security.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Phucket
by on Jan. 13, 2013 at 10:54 PM