Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

ABA therapist?

Posted by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 11:33 AM
  • 14 Replies

Is anyone in here an applied behavioral therapist or know someone who is?  I have a Bachelor's of Sociology for the University of Massachusetts Boston and recently found out that they have an ABA graduate certificate program that is 5 courses.  I've been interested in ABA therapy for quite some time and have taken education and special ed classes in the past.  I have a lot of diverse experience and am really thinking about applying for this program. 

Does anyone have any experience or insight?

by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 11:33 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
auntangelofsix
by Silver Member on Jan. 20, 2013 at 11:36 AM
No sorry.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
yezay
by Platinum Member on Jan. 20, 2013 at 11:41 AM

Thanks for the bump anyway!

Bax
by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 11:50 AM

There is a developmental pediatrician in this area, ironically born and schooled in Massachusetts, who firmly believes in ABA and is constantly iritated that our area does not have any ABA certified therapists.  Our area never quite caught on to the methodology, I think the ABA is too intensive (therefore costly) for this area.  Other than speaking to this Pediatrican I dont have much knowledge of the program other than that where in our area EI therapy would generally have a maximum of 1 session per week where as ABA wants a minimum of 3 and prefers 4 sessions a week.  The theory of most therapists in our area is that more does not necessarily mean better but.... again since Pennsylvania has a state entitlement program set up, this may be due soley to the cost factor.

yezay
by Platinum Member on Jan. 20, 2013 at 12:04 PM

bump

yezay
by Platinum Member on Jan. 20, 2013 at 12:06 PM