Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Why do you argue like it's a parenting style/choice?

Posted by   + Show Post

When it comes to car seat safety, why argue about what's safe or not? You are either doing it right, or you're doing it wrong. If you're wrong, you are NOT RIGHT. You CAN NOT argue that you're right. There are too many tests, and experts (techs) that have been educated for YOU to aruge that it's okay because some jim bob from what'cha'ma call it's fire station said it was good enough. GET A CLUE!! 

And yes, I'm a tech.

PLEASE take a look at this if you're interested in admitting that you might be doing something wrong, and actually doing something about it.

http://dailymomtra.com/2011/03/30/the-picture-guide-to-car-seat-safety/

Phew. Sorry, I had to say that after that mess of a post that I just read!!

by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 9:07 AM
Replies (121-130):
kitty8199
by Ruby Member on Jan. 22, 2013 at 6:47 PM
OK. I don't know other countries' laws.

Quoting kit_manson:

You misunderstand me. I don't live in the states, and he was over 20lbs, not exactly 20. I kept him in the infant seat until he hit the weight limit, then i switched him. He wasn't quite yet one, but he was over the weight limit for my area.

Quoting kitty8199:

That's one thing people misunderstand. It isn't either or, it its both one AND over 20. In ALL states.

There are dozens of seats that still rf at 20 lb, and NOT ONE that says before 23 lb. ALL states have a proper use law.

You don't have to ERF, but follow the minimum at least.

Quoting kit_manson:

Legal standards aren't the same everywhere... I often get bitched out for having my son forward face before one. However, it was legal in my area because he was over 20 lbs. It was also safer than leaving him in a car seat he didn't fit the weight limits of.

Quoting kitty8199: