Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Nice job lying to my kid and stressing her out for no good reason..........

Posted by on Jan. 29, 2013 at 9:55 PM
  • 28 Replies

Here is the background-

My 8 yr old DD Caitlin is in 3rd grade in public school. This year she has to take The Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS).  It is a state test used to assess the schools performance and to a small extent the teachers performance as well.  I used to be a teacher in MA so I know all about this test and what a crock of shit it is. Kids take it, then funding is given to schools who scores are high enough and taken away if they are too low.  It is a redictulous  system in my opinion, but whatever, it is what it is.  Kids have to take it every year starting in 3rd grade.  It means NOTHING for the students personally.

Caitlin is a straight A student.  She has never gotten bellow a 98 on a test.  She reads at a 7th grade level.  And any yearly assessment test she takes her score is double or triple the class average.  I am not saying that to brag, it is just how far ahead she is, and why the what happened today is even more upsetting.

So now to what i am upset over.

Starting in September the teacher starting talking and talking and talking about the MCAS test with Caitlin's class.  Caitlin came home all stressed over it.  Saying they had to do good and it was a very important test for their grade/  Which is totally not true.  I explained that it is an important test for the school.  But, that it does not affect her grade personally.  I told her she needed to do her best because and show what she has learned because it it important for the school.  But, I told her she does not need to stress over it, and to just do her best.