Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

new to this

Posted by on Feb. 1, 2013 at 3:54 PM
  • 6 Replies
2 moms liked this

Just wanted to say hello. I am new at using chat rooms. I am a 36 year old mom of 4 great kids ages 17, 15, 11, and 9. I really don't have any friends in my life and I have been feeling very lonely and depressed this winter. I know God is my constant friend but sometimes I just need a physical friend that I could talk to. There's so many things that I would love to do and enjoy in my life but I am held back by depression and isolation. I am currently not involved in anything. I don't belong to a gym or any kind of group. I go to school two days a week at my community college and that's about all I do. I don't even enjoy my time at home. The daily chores of washing and cleaning and cooking have become so boring and lonely. We used to go to church every Sunday and Wednesday but currently we don't. I don't have the finances to dress 4 kids, my husband and myself to attend nor do we all fit in one vehicle to get there so we just don't go anymore. Financially we are a big mess. We are on food stamps. Our home is in pre-forclosure. Our electricity was shut off. I am so burdened and stressed and alone. My husband and I hardly talk. He doesn't understand how or why I feel the way I do so it's just easier to hardly speak. I hate to bring all this negativity to this group but I am so desperate for a friend.

-Vanessa

by on Feb. 1, 2013 at 3:54 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
Junebaby18
by Bronze Member on Feb. 1, 2013 at 4:26 PM
I know a little of how you feel about feeling lonely and depressed. Is there any way you can get a part time job, if not for money but just to get out of the house and be with other adults? The extra money would help too.