Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Everybody had one. What was YOURS?

Posted by on Mar. 2, 2013 at 10:44 AM
  • 79 Replies

Your "plan" that is.

I never had any plans on getting married and I wanted maybe one kid. I went to school for Hospitality and Tourism Management with an emphasis in Special Event Planning and I wanted to go to New York to work for a high end event firm.

I graduated in 2001... just 4 months before 9-11. I chose to take the summer off and waitress while I "played" and by the time I was ready to look for a job, there were none because of the events in September that year.

After that I decided to apply for a job teaching in Japan. I got it... was a month from getting on the plane and going to Japan for a year (min.) and I met DH. I can't say I'm upset I stayed, because we are still together with a happy family... but I often wonder just what I passed up on.

This gal who was never going to have kids or get married ended up a SAHM for 6 years and now I sell advertising.

Makes me sad to think I let so much opportunity pass me by.

What was your plan?

by on Mar. 2, 2013 at 10:44 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
LizzieAnnesMom
by ☆Mrs.Winchester☆ on Mar. 2, 2013 at 10:54 AM
1 mom liked this
College, medical degree, maybe in forensics. My bff was going to get a job in forensics and we were going to work/live together.however i got married had kids. I plan to go back to school next spring, get something in nursing. My bff is almost done with her forensics degree. Im so proud of her!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
thatgirl70
by Carin on Mar. 2, 2013 at 11:35 AM

Nope, never had one. The only thing I knew is that I wanted to be a mother, but never knew what career path I wanted to take. 

shoot4thestars
by on Mar. 2, 2013 at 12:04 PM