Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

This nurse should lose her liscense!!!!!!!!

Posted by on Mar. 4, 2013 at 11:56 AM
  • 89 Replies

I am a student nurse and I have worked in the medical field a long, long time, in nursing homes! There is no way in Hell I would put the policy of a facility (as in this case) over the life of a patient UNLESS I knew (and it was in chart) the patient was DNR!

Nurse refuses to give CPR because it's 'against policy,' woman dies

15 hrs ago

Disturbing audio from a 911 call is catching people's attention. The call features a California nurse refusing to give CPR to a collapsed elderly woman, despite desperate pleas from the dispatcher, because it was against the retirement home's policy. (The Glenwood Gardens senior living community's policy is to never perform CPR, but to call 911 and wait with the sick resident until help arrives.) The elderly woman, 87-year-old Lorraine Bayless, later died, sparking a wave of outrage over the idea of following regulations at the expense of a human life. Beginning around 1:22, you can hear the Bakersfield nurse, "Colleen," explain the situation at Glenwood Gardens senior living community. "I don't understand why you're not willing to help this patient," the dispatcher replies. [Source]

What do you think of this?

by on Mar. 4, 2013 at 11:56 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
silverdawn99
by Jamie on Mar. 4, 2013 at 11:58 AM
The woman had a dnr and terminal cancer. A friend of mine used to work there and still had a friend there

Quoting momdoes:

I am a student nurse and I have worked in the medical field a long, long time, in nursing homes! There is no way in Hell I would put the policy of a facility (as in this case) over the life of a patient UNLESS I knew (and it was in chart) the patient was DNR!

15 hrs ago