Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Car accident

Posted by on Mar. 24, 2013 at 12:21 PM
  • 8 Replies
Yesterday my hubby was in an accident with our only car, police were involved, it was not his fault and the other driver had a suspended licences which again makes it the other persons fault. I have never done any of this stuff before. I called my insurance and they said I can deal with the other persons insurance or I can report a claim for my insurance and they will go after the other insurance to get my deductiable money back. Now my question, my insurance wants me to take my car somewhere in there network. My friend told me to go get my own quote done and fixed whereever I wanna get it done. How does this work? Does my insruance company write me a check to get it fixed after I lay out my dedutable or how does this work?
by on Mar. 24, 2013 at 12:21 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
kimber2465
by Silver Member on Mar. 24, 2013 at 12:28 PM

call the other person insurance. they will send out an adjuster to the body shop. get them to look all the damage below and above. now if you do go through your insurance company- ( and with the other) you can take your car to any shop that your company deals with, your company will also send out an adjuster.. when you get it fix- you pay your deductible, the insurance company the body shop. the only time i have ever had a checked cut to me was for very minor damage. if you use your company- they will go after the other guy's for all charges

Mom-3girls-1boy
by on Mar. 24, 2013 at 12:29 PM
Some insurance companies will pay the finance company if you are making payments on the vehicle
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
bebe_ju-rah
by on Mar. 24, 2013 at 12:30 PM
^^ that. Don't go through your insurance unless they are uninsured.
nurse1997