Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

mom of two kids with down syndrome needs help

Posted by on Mar. 27, 2013 at 11:00 AM
  • 10 Replies

Hello my name is Natosha, and this is my first time on this site. I am married and have two beautiful children. Both my son(8) and my daughter (6) have Down syndrome. They are like night and day. Brynt is very healthy, got off the bottle at a year old was walking by 2 years and he is now in first grade in public school and is doing very well. Kloe was born with heart defects and has had two open heart surgery's and is going to have another one within the next year. She still will not give up her bottle, she was walking by age 4 but still not running. She is suppose to go into kindergarden next year but the only problem is getting her off the bottle and spoon/fork fedding herself. She will finger feed herself but thats it. She will not touch a sippy cup. She also has thyroid problems and her medication requires her to drink lots of water. She is in pre-school and her teachers and i have been working on this for years and we just dont know what to do to get her to feed herself. ANY suggestions anyone has will be greatly appreciated!

thank you

by on Mar. 27, 2013 at 11:00 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
hugss
Take some *Time Out* for You, Join our Friendly/Supportive group :)
Yesterday at 11:36 PM
Time Out For You Group - CafeMom

Need some Time for You? Feeling stressed? Kick back, relax & take a break. If you're a woman who just wants to have fun, here's the place :)

by Emerald Member on Mar. 27, 2013 at 11:04 AM

Welcome to CafeMom Natosha,
Does she see how her brother eats/drinks like a *big boy* so to speak?
Can you just give her the sippy cup at a meal & no bottle?
Here is a group that may be of help .. Raising Kids with special needs .