Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Social Anxiety- Applying for fast food jobs at age 45

Posted by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 2:33 PM
  • 9 Replies
Hello Everyone,

I'm a new member to CM. A question needing an answer that can't be readily found through online searches.

Due to the recession, my work history has been damaged: over-qualified, long term unemployed, & a bad reference from a very cantankerous boss. After being out of work for almost a year (job rejection after rejection), my marriage to my husband was strained. I had numerous creditors calling me and attacking my credit rating. Being that I cannot pay my debts being unemployed, my husband and I took a break, that I left to a different state to find work (& finding work I did, at McDonalds). Before this point, I have never worked in fast food before. The experience was good, nobody knew me and I got my credit back on track.

After about a year away from my husband, a planned short trip to renew my license (and other paperwork) turned out to a long trip of reconciling with my husband. The issue now is that I'm using my fast food reference (a good one) to reapply at McDonalds again. My husband hates the idea. (I tried to get a glossier job, but got rejected). I just need a job to rebuild my work credentials. As going from no work options,to limited options, I'm being strong to build more options. First McDonalds, second grocery clerk, then to bank teller (I'm a former bookkeeper).

How can I get my husband to accept me working at McDonalds (he hates the stigma.attached)?

Why am I not seeing more people doing what I'm doing (at my age) instead of enduring ongoing long term unemployment?

I need to start somewhere. I need to rebuild fast. I need to repay my debts, and want to be able to advance myself to help my daughter pay off her student loans in our still struggling economy.