Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

All day every day kindergarten

Posted by on Apr. 24, 2013 at 5:51 AM
  • 287 Replies
They just passed a bill in MN to have all day every day kindergarten. Seems like a bit much to me! I've worked in k-6.

Do you have all day K in your area? How is it working for you and your LO?
by on Apr. 24, 2013 at 5:51 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
tyrelsmom
by Gold Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 6:32 AM
My son goes all day, 2 days a week. Every day would be way too much, IMO.
duejan13th
by ♥Jessica♥ on Apr. 24, 2013 at 6:33 AM
Is there a choice once that passes??? My state passes it last year. But I don't want my son in all day every day.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
alli1204
by Silver Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 6:34 AM
1 mom liked this
I'm a kindergarten teacher. We go all day everyday. Some kiddos take a few weeks to adjust at the beginning of he year but after a while it's no big deal.
Mittenmommie
by Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 6:36 AM
1 mom liked this
My son goes all day, all week and he loves it! They do some many different activities during the day and they have what his teacher calls centers (math,reading,writing, spelling) each one is about 10 mins in the morning and 10 in the afternoon so they stay focused. I think it is working great for the kids, they all seem to love it
epoh
by Emerald Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 6:38 AM
My Dd attends all day kinder 5 days a week. The initial adjustment was a bit rough. The teachers worked to provide an afternoon rest period until Christmas time, then weaned the children from it. It's been great for my DD and her knowledge of things taught is greater than her peers attending half day. That also could be because she's an intellectual sponge and loves learning. :)
Kris_PBG