Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Is this even legal?

Posted by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 4:11 PM
  • 18 Replies
I am a nurse. Well recently I had family in the hospital and we were looking for physical rehab facilities. We were talking to a social worker about this before leaving the hospital. I mentioned the name of the facility I work at occasionally without telling the social worker I work there. The social worker said she highly wouldn't reccommend there and threw out a few more names of different facilities. Well a few days later I was at a meeting at work and they asked how I thought they could raise the census since it has been low. I told them we need to build a good reputation and with our current reputation we will not ever get to the desired census. I then told them how a family member was at the hospital recently and the social worker was recommending us not to go there. Now they want me to tell them the name of the social worker, my family members name, and write a statement so the can go after the hospital. I refuse to because I feel like it is an invasion of my family members privacy. They told me if I don't tell them I will not get any hours until I do.
by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 4:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Cmgmqmmom
by Bronze Member on Apr. 29, 2013 at 4:13 PM
1 mom liked this
I would claim HIPAA. They have no right to the information about your family member.
Seagodess
by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 4:15 PM

I'd say check with your state laws.

You could say you dont know the name of the social worker. I dont they can force you to give out personal family information.

umm.yeah
by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 4:15 PM

They can't make you violate privacy laws.

Schaiswife09
by Member on Apr. 29, 2013 at 4:29 PM