Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

About to break down...

Posted by on Jun. 16, 2013 at 4:00 PM
  • 7 Replies
Okay, so Im new to this cafe mom thing. But I made one so that I can have other moms to talk to.
I recently started my first relationship since my daughters father left the picture, of course he still saw her up until he started drugs, but anyways, we still keep in contact since I moved to Brandon MB, 2 hours away from my hometown, Winnipeg MB. I moved so I could start a new life with my girlfriend Johanna. But shes an alcoholic and she might be moving back to her hometown to help her mom and get sober. So I'm going to be alone here with no friends and no support. How do I deal with that? I cant just go back to winnipeg cuz then ill be proving everyone there right, that I couldnt make it here with no support.
by on Jun. 16, 2013 at 4:00 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
happysnappy
by on Jun. 16, 2013 at 4:52 PM
1 mom liked this

you could start by choosing someone who's not an addict.

Reina13
by Gold Member on Jun. 17, 2013 at 9:02 AM

Hi. Welcome.

Are you able to financially stay in Brandon on your own? If you can sustain your lifestyle, then you should tough it out if it means a better life for you and your daughter.

If you cannot sustain a life for you and your child, then I dont think there is anything wrong with moving back to your hometown, especially if you have family support there.

You should do what is in the best interest of your child, not your pride.

I understand it can be lonely in a town with no friends or family, but that can easily be remedied by meeting people at places like the park, play groups, church, community centers etc...you just have to extend yourself and be open to meeting new people.

Good luck.