Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Shall I circumcise my son advice please

Posted by on Jun. 23, 2013 at 6:52 AM
  • 83 Replies
Hi my names Hayley I have 2 children, a lil girl of nearly 9 and a 1 month old baby boy. I'm English and come from a non religious background. My partner is Muslim. His family would like to circumcise my son. the thought of this is making me very depressed as I cannot bare the thought of putting my son through this. I have no knowledge of circumcision. His family are saying I'm only worrying as its a new thing to me and its a simple procedure. Thoughts and advice please? Reading sources from the Internet have petrified me as it says there are no health benefits and is painful for the child
by on Jun. 23, 2013 at 6:52 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
NDADanceMom
by on Jun. 23, 2013 at 7:10 AM
I'm shocked you found no Heath benifits. It reduces the chance of STDs.
My son is, as are many Americans. I did it because his dad is, its what I'm familiar with. I don't think its a big deal either way but i would do what you and your husband decide, i wouldn't worry about the family.
TableforSeven
by Judy on Jun. 23, 2013 at 7:16 AM

I'm assuming your partner wants his son circumcised for religious reasons.  If it helps you feel better....you should know that in religions where circumcision is done ritualistically, the person who does the, is highly trained in the procedure and, generally speaking, they are more careful, taking their time more than a hospital doctor who just wants to get every baby in and out as quickly as possible.

Krystalgates454
by on Jun. 23, 2013 at 7:57 AM
1 mom liked this