Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Company not following employee manual?

Posted by on Jun. 27, 2013 at 11:45 AM
  • 11 Replies
So I am a nurse at a local nursing home. It is a new facility that opened. Well I worked Memorial Day. According to the employee manual full time and part time employees both receive holiday pay (time and a half) if they work the holiday. Well the payroll person and administrator (who just asked the payroll person) says that only full time employees get holiday pay. I am part time. Is there anything I can do legally to make them pay me holiday pay? They want to make me work every other holiday (full time and part time employees are supposed to) and I wouldn't care if I just didnt have to work any more holidays ESP x mas and thanksgiving
by on Jun. 27, 2013 at 11:45 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
RADmomma
by on Jun. 27, 2013 at 12:00 PM
1 mom liked this
Take the manual to them, show them where it says part time get holiday pay... If the refuse contact a higher up... Good luck
Tipsen
by Bronze Member on Jun. 27, 2013 at 12:06 PM
I took the manual to them but they said the policy in the book was misprinted and they don't have a copy of the actual policy

Quoting RADmomma:

Take the manual to them, show them where it says part time get holiday pay... If the refuse contact a higher up... Good luck

RADmomma
by on Jun. 27, 2013 at 12:09 PM
That's bogus. I'd try someone higher up. Until they provide you with the real policy you are due the pay. I would refuse to work them if they aren't going to follow the manual that they provided.

But most places don't pay holiday for part time so I can see that it was a misprint but they are still required to pay until they provide you with an updated manual.

Quoting Tipsen: