Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Breastfeeding Student Told to Use the Bathroom to Pump UPDATE

*this was also posted in the Breastfeeding group*

UPDATE AT BOTTOM IN RED

Hello! I am a college student with a 2 month old little boy. My school has been of no help in trying to find me an appropriate place to pump. I have been told to use the bathroom and a locker room. I have started a petition to change this. Not just for me, but for all breastfeeding students (current and future). If you could take the time to sign and share the petition (link is at the bottom of this page), I would really appreciate it. You can read the full story below from www.latchthebabes.com:

20130827-002337.jpg

Shelbi Wallace, an American Sign Language major at Sinclair Community College in Dayton, Ohio, has been denied a place to pump for her two month old baby and has been forced to pump in the hallway while using a cover. Any mother who has ever pumped knows that not having a quiet, comfortable place to pump can greatly decrease letdown and the amount of milk pumped can be compromised from the stress. This can be detrimental to the breastfeeding relationship between mother and baby.

Ms Wallace has gone through several different support services at the college to no avail. She called the ombudsman, whose job according to Sinclair’s website, is:

The Ombudsman provides assistance to the students who indicate they have problems/issues or concerns that need resolution.

It may involve:

• Listening Carefully
  • Answering Questions
  • Investigating Complaints
  • Making Appropriate Referrals
  • Mediating a Resolution
  • Helping Students Persist Toward Educational Goals

The Ombudsman can:

• Listen to problems
  • Investigate
  • Mediate, facilitate, and clarify policies and procedures