Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Worrying for no reason??

Posted by on Aug. 28, 2013 at 10:58 PM
  • 9 Replies
Hi,
My name is Michelle and I am the mother of a beautiful boy who just turned 9 months. I am also a special education teacher who works with children on the autism spectrum. Because of my career and the experiences that I've had I am terrified that my child may autism. I have not noticed anything specific to warrant any concerns and for the most part I say to myself that I'm being irrational and that he's fine however I can't help worrying. My son is babbling, very curious and gives great eye contact. Should I worry or is he ok? Help!!
by on Aug. 28, 2013 at 10:58 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
DACIA79
by Silver Member on Aug. 28, 2013 at 11:03 PM
Its normal to worry its part of being a first time mom. To ease your mind why don't you do the autism spectrum checklist and put your mind at ease.
jconney80
by Gold Member on Aug. 28, 2013 at 11:04 PM
Hi! I have 3 kids with Aspergers/ HFA. What makes you worry about him having autism? I'm sure it's hard to not worry when you've seen it so much!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Imjustinsmommy
by on Aug. 28, 2013 at 11:08 PM

if you work with this  then you dont need me to tell you at 9 mos babbling, eye contact & curious & aware is all  great stuff & normal. no i woudlnt worry until you need to worry..  & if you get to that point.. dont worry lol he;d have the best mom for it!

MomofLiam1
by Member on Aug. 28, 2013 at 11:13 PM
I have been for some time now it's just hard since he's still so young, thanks! If you know of a good checklist can you send me a link? Thanks!

Quoting DACIA79:

Its normal to worry its part of being a first time mom. To ease your mind why don't you do the autism spectrum checklist and put your mind at ease.