Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Advice? Son 9y/o with ADHD. Indianapolis Area

Posted by on Sep. 10, 2013 at 4:30 AM
  • 7 Replies

I am new to Cafe Mom and excited to share and benefit from everyone's experience and opinion.  I have a son who will be 10 next month.  It has been very obvious for about 6 years now that he is textbook ADHD.  We didn't even broach the issue until he was nearly 7.  At that time when his challenges became obvious as they were appearing even during times he was doing activities he enjoys.  He was on 3 different meds (one at a time) over the course of a year with varying side effects.  We decided about 1 and a half years ago to discontinue medication indefinitely or until all other choices were exhausted.  As he gets older, these challenges with focus, attention, impulsivity, and maturity become more and more pronounced.  Currently, I am investigating avenues including Acupuncture and counseling in hopes to help him learn to process his thoughts and feelings and increase my effectiveness to help support him as a parent.  I don't want the frustration he in experiencing to become overwhelming and discourage him in his pursuits.  Anyone have any experience with these alternatives?  And anyone in the Indianapolis area have recommendations for providers of these services?

Thank you in advance, and I look forward to getting to know you all:)

Amberbat

by on Sep. 10, 2013 at 4:30 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
schultzal
by Bronze Member on Sep. 10, 2013 at 5:00 AM
I can recommend a great practice just north of Indy, for therapy/counseling. Pm me if you'd like their details.

Unfortunately, I don't know of any acupuncturists to recommend.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
jhslove
by on Sep. 10, 2013 at 5:56 AM
1 mom liked this