Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Three most important life skills to teach your child

Posted by on Sep. 14, 2013 at 10:15 AM
  • 35 Replies
2 moms liked this

The three life skills I am trying to teach my daughter, neice, and now the child I am babysitting is: self discipline, mental toughness, and how to work hard. I believe that if you teach your child or children those three life skills they will be successful as adults. I see so many kids that quit when they face adversity. Please make your kids finish something they start, and let them struggle through it. They will think you when they are an adult. I struggled a lot as a child and my mom always made me finish what I started. I think that skill and the fact that my mom taught me self discipline is the reason I graduated from college.  

by on Sep. 14, 2013 at 10:15 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
NDADanceMom
by on Sep. 14, 2013 at 10:25 AM
4 moms liked this
Each family has their own priorities. We teach as #1 honesty/honor. Your word is more important and harder to get back than anything else. If people trust you and you pay your debts you can go much further in life.
#2 is faith/respect. Love and honor your heavenly creator and your earthly creators.
#3 is curiosity and knowledge. Never stop learning.
funmom111
by Member on Sep. 14, 2013 at 10:28 AM
1 mom liked this

Awesome, I left out of my post a love for Christ

susannah2000
by Member on Sep. 14, 2013 at 10:55 AM
1 mom liked this

Interesting question! I'm sure everyone would answer the question differently. Off the top of my head, mine would be