Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

College Degree---??

Posted by on Oct. 13, 2013 at 3:15 PM
  • 50 Replies
I know so many people that have degrees and don't use them.. Or say its too hard to find a job in their field. I used to bartend and waitress and I remember quite a few of the girls at least had their bachelors... I am starting back to school in the spring to peruse my BSW and eventually my MSW. I am confident ill use mine because social work is something im very passionate about and really want to do. I'm just wondering how many of you actually use your degrees and If you don't, why not?
by on Oct. 13, 2013 at 3:15 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
sahmw2010
by Bronze Member on Oct. 13, 2013 at 3:22 PM
I have a degree as an administrative assistant and i have a hard tine finding a job. They give the jobs to people they can train THEIR way and can pay less for then to someone who has the college degree (and i am finding that employers don't really want to hire military spouses because they don't want to be looking for a new person in a few years. I am going back for an associates in Paralegal studies.. Hopefully i can actually get something
leksismommy
by on Oct. 13, 2013 at 3:25 PM

My best friend has a Bachelors Degree in Education and English literature. She can't find a job as a teacher or even as a sub, she works at the museum for $8.50 an hour and no benefits.

Seven.yrs.apart
by on Oct. 13, 2013 at 3:30 PM
It do not get it.. People spend so much time and money to get degrees then can't use them. The school I Am going to has a placement program so I'm truly hoping I won't be wasting my time/money on this. I can't imagine having a degree and working for min wage. I don't have a degree and I don't even work for min wage now.
BeataIII