Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

I was just reading an article on yahoo about a girl named keisha that changed her name because of the taunts.  She is a bi racial girl in Missouri.  People would make fun of her for her name, including a teacher! 

The most interesting part of the article for me was that there was a study done that showed that people with "black sounding names" were profiled on job applications and such.  People with these names have a harder time getting into college and getting good jobs.  

Does this impact your opinion of a more ethnic name for your child?  As a teacher I have seen the distress that many kids feel because of their names and did stick to traditional names and spellings but many parents love to be original. 

by on Nov. 6, 2013 at 10:36 AM
Replies (11-20):
WILDCATGAL78
by Member on Nov. 6, 2013 at 9:00 PM

I wasn't thinking about "ethnic" names when I chose. I was thinking of names that were variations of my family and/or had meaning. My daughter almost had the name "Shaleigh" mostly after me but I changed my mind at the last minute. I have heard the name before but spelled differently (Shaylee or Shalee) and both of those namesakes were Caucasian girls. I ended up naming my daughter Hudsyn Camille after my grandmother and mother. But Kiera Leigh was close second. If I ever have another daughter that will be her name. I am work at an elementary school as well so I totally understand where you and the article are coming from. Just to give you an example we had a child whose name was Shativia and her mother was Caucasian and that's the name she chose.

momdoes
by Platinum Member on Nov. 6, 2013 at 9:20 PM

You cant get no more traditional or white than my boys names!

My son is James. My stepson is Scott. and my husband is Jeff.

LOL

momdoes
by Platinum Member on Nov. 6, 2013 at 9:23 PM