Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

I was just reading an article on yahoo about a girl named keisha that changed her name because of the taunts.  She is a bi racial girl in Missouri.  People would make fun of her for her name, including a teacher! 

The most interesting part of the article for me was that there was a study done that showed that people with "black sounding names" were profiled on job applications and such.  People with these names have a harder time getting into college and getting good jobs.  

Does this impact your opinion of a more ethnic name for your child?  As a teacher I have seen the distress that many kids feel because of their names and did stick to traditional names and spellings but many parents love to be original. 

by on Nov. 6, 2013 at 10:36 AM
Replies (21-30):
happymommy1105
by Platinum Member on Nov. 6, 2013 at 10:22 PM
1 mom liked this

oookay.  whatever. 

i never said that i tell my children "see that little boy- his mommy has no education" because i would never say something like to my children.  

you jusge people- i judge people, we all judge people whether we admit it or not.  (again, you may not want to admit it but at the end of the day, you passed judgement on at least 1 person everyday, whether it be a stranger or somebody you know).  

how do i teach my children to be kind hearted?  well, let's see when my 7 year old heard another little boy making fun of one his friend's accents- i reminded him that we are all different and it's wrong to make fun of the way somebody else's speaks.  every christmas we donate toys to the children's hopsital.  every year for his birthday, he donates part of his birthday money to the children's hospital.  

how i tagain, you already passed judgement on me- and you don't know me.  but you want to gettell me that i'm wrong?  aren't you just as wrong?