Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

I was just reading an article on yahoo about a girl named keisha that changed her name because of the taunts.  She is a bi racial girl in Missouri.  People would make fun of her for her name, including a teacher! 

The most interesting part of the article for me was that there was a study done that showed that people with "black sounding names" were profiled on job applications and such.  People with these names have a harder time getting into college and getting good jobs.  

Does this impact your opinion of a more ethnic name for your child?  As a teacher I have seen the distress that many kids feel because of their names and did stick to traditional names and spellings but many parents love to be original. 

by on Nov. 6, 2013 at 10:36 AM
Replies (41-50):
tashzbbone06
by on Nov. 7, 2013 at 7:06 AM
1 mom liked this
Opps I meant Nathaniel.

Quoting tashzbbone06:

I have a Saphyre Ne'cole, Haley Alexis, Zoe Morgan and Nataniel Bryton(he goes by Bryton) and never put any thought into ethnicity.. Were all white. I just wanted something different which is probably why my mom named me Sunshine Angel.. :-)

NDADanceMom
by on Nov. 7, 2013 at 7:13 AM

Can I ask about your educational background, socioeconomic status and area you live in?  Some mothers here have posted that names like that are usually from moms with less education who are poor. 

Quoting tashzbbone06:

Opps I meant Nathaniel.

Quoting tashzbbone06:

I have a Saphyre Ne'cole, Haley Alexis, Zoe Morgan and Nataniel Bryton(he goes by Bryton) and never put any thought into ethnicity.. Were all white. I just wanted something different which is probably why my mom named me Sunshine Angel.. :-)

newmom2.8
by on Nov. 7, 2013 at 7:30 AM
1 mom liked this