Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Looking for support on what seems like a very lonely road

Posted by on Nov. 24, 2013 at 11:47 PM
  • 21 Replies

I'm brand new to the whole step-parenting thing.  I grew up with an awesome stepdad and I hope to be just as good at this as he is.  

My household consists of me, my boyfriend, Alan, and his 7 yr old son, Richard.  We've been living together since March.  At first, Richard was very warm and welcoming.  But then his mother started messing with his poor little head.  Since summer it's been a roller coaster.

Richard's mom is a borderline personality.  She has no ability to assess her environment or how her actions impact others.  Therefore, she is constantly saying or dealing with things in front of Richard that affect him deeply.  She has a long history of stealing, manipulating and lying in order to get what she think she needs.  This week I have finally had enough of her games and verbalized my frustrations with her.  Now I'm scared that I have made a bigger mess for Alan and Richard.  I would love to have the power to say that she can no longer be a part of Richard's life, but that's not my call to make.

I'm on this site looking for advice and support from other women in a similar situation.  Thank you all for sharing and I look forward to making some good connections. 

by on Nov. 24, 2013 at 11:47 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Rodie
by on Nov. 25, 2013 at 12:04 AM
1 mom liked this

Good Luck!

My step daughter is a sophmore in college now so the days of crazy "baby momma" drama are over!

rebecca949
by on Nov. 25, 2013 at 1:21 AM
2 moms liked this