Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Any advice for interactive toys for 20 month old autistic girl

Posted by on Dec. 18, 2013 at 6:53 PM
  • 6 Replies

I am really new at this, and any advice would be greatly appreciated.  I read a book that explains how to interact with autistic kids using the Early Start Denver Model. (BTW, she goes to early intervention in january, but in the mean time, I really want to work with her). I have only been doing it for two days now, but I feel like my daughter is already bored with the interactive toys we are playing.  I tried pretend food and trying to get her to understand pouring tea into a cup.  All she wants to do is bang the food together.  I am trying to teach her to hug her baby doll, but she gets so mad whe I hug the doll she starts crying and then throws it.  I don't know, maybe this is too much for her. I have taken all of her old toys aways because they don't allow interaction.  She loves flipping the pages of books, so I try to point and explain the book, but she gets mad.

Am I doing something wrong here?  She is only 20 month old, so maybe I should be trying something else.  Anyone had success with something I could maybe try?

by on Dec. 18, 2013 at 6:53 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
AJsMom81507
by Member on Dec. 18, 2013 at 7:31 PM

my DS was diagnosed at 15 months old.  i did not try to do it on my own, and followed his therapists suggestions.

your child will not learn as well as she will with the therapists.  also the toys you have are old to her.  therapists will usually bring "new stuff"

jconney80
by Gold Member on Dec. 18, 2013 at 10:58 PM