Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

4 month old just starting rice cereal and baby food

Posted by on Jan. 6, 2014 at 9:18 PM
  • 20 Replies
Hi mommies! I'm a FTM and we're just starting rice cereal and then after that stage 1 baby foods. Just looking for any general tips or advice on how you first started with when, how much, etc. I know this is a pretty general question but i have zero experience so I'm sure any ideas would help. I'm thinking i may start my LO with rice cereal at morning and night and continue his formula throughout the day. Thoughts? Thanks so much!
by on Jan. 6, 2014 at 9:18 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
pinkiebabii
by Jennie on Jan. 6, 2014 at 9:21 PM
3 moms liked this
My tip is no baby food or that garbage rice cereal until six months.
Baby is way too young for solids!
zoenlandonsmom
by Member on Jan. 6, 2014 at 9:23 PM
I agree babies tech don't need any thing other than breastmilk or formula for the first year

When you do start baby food start only one new food a week

Quoting pinkiebabii: My tip is no baby food or that garbage rice cereal until six months.

Baby is way too young for solids!
lenashark
by Bronze Member on Jan. 6, 2014 at 9:35 PM

No food until 6 months and no rice cereal in a bottle ever, it's a chocking hazard. Rice cereal in general is junk for babies. Just feed your baby formula, they don't need anything else that this point.

littlepinkrose
by Member on Jan. 6, 2014 at 9:39 PM

No cereal until at least six months I say.  Also, really your baby does not need much except breast milk or formula for the first year.

ditsyjo
by Gold Member on Jan. 6, 2014 at 10:51 PM