Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Stepmom blues...encouragement needed

Posted by on Jan. 19, 2014 at 2:26 PM
  • 15 Replies
Hi ladies, I'm new to the group so bear with me ;-). I have a 12 yo stepson that lives with us. His mother is sporadically in the picture. My husband and I have been married for 1.5 years and together for 3.5. I just gave birth to my first child a year ago. I am having the most difficult time with this blended family situation. It has caused me to take time off work and seek counseling. Which is out of character for me. I am a professional woman with a successful career but this has brought me to my knees. It is a constant struggle between my husband and I and is causing marital problems. I am having respect and discipline issues with my stepson (lying and talking back) and my husband doesn't back me up. He simply overindulges the child with gifts and expensive shoes. Had I known that coping with this situation and trying to find it in my heart to love a stepchild would be this difficult for me I would have never married my husband. Now I feel trapped in my own home. Please share any success stories or words of encouragement. TIA!
by on Jan. 19, 2014 at 2:26 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
withsecond
by on Jan. 19, 2014 at 2:37 PM
How were things between you before you got married?
JDM2012
by New Member on Jan. 19, 2014 at 2:41 PM
Things were really good between my husband and I. But if I'm honest, before we got married I was contemplating living him because of his son's behavior, but I got pregnant. I know how it sounds...but it's my reality
withsecond
by on Jan. 19, 2014 at 2:42 PM
1 mom liked this
You have to quote people if you want us to know you've responded.

Maybe you should try letting him handle your step son so you two aren't fighting about it?