Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

I work full time as a teacher.   I love to make my family home made meals but on work nites i get home about 5 pm, then we relax,  ds does homework, everyone seems to be starving by 6/6:30 and i have fallen into making dinners that are either frozen,  pre packaged dinners,   delivery, or overly simple stuff.    I have a crock pot but i really only make slow cooked chicken with different soups or shredded bbq chicken sandwiches.   i NEED some new ideas.   i have seached online but everything i find sound like something my family wouldnt want to eat.   if you have any ideas of recipes to make that are quick and simple please share them!! 

by on Feb. 1, 2014 at 12:08 PM
Replies (11-20):
ballerina18
by Platinum Member on Feb. 2, 2014 at 2:24 AM

My SO and I both work. One thing that I have started doing that REALLY helps is...

I do 1 big grocery shopping trip a week (on Saturdays) and then I prep a ton of food for the week on Sundays. I prepare all of SO's and my lunches for the week and I store them in tupperware containers. Then during the week SO can just take his lunch to work and I can eat my lunch without worrying about having to cook or prepare anything.

In addition to making lunches in advance I try to prep dinners as much as I can. I will cut veggies for salads, roast cut potatoes and keep them in the fridge, get taco shells ready, put food together in the crock pot (un cooked) to store in the fridge and then start cooking in the morning before I head off to work. I will cook quinoa and cauliflower rice in advance so I can heat it up during the week.