Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Expecting my first child in a few weeks!!

Posted by on Mar. 19, 2014 at 5:59 PM
  • 9 Replies
2 moms liked this

Hello moms, I'm new to CafeMom and also new to motherhood. My baby boy, Joshua will be here in a few weeks and I can't be more excited. But lately I've been under alot of stress dealing with the father of my child, he is 24 to my 21, and he doesn't seem to be taking on the role that is to come. Is it wrong for me to ask him to grow up? 

by on Mar. 19, 2014 at 5:59 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
ashleyzeedar
by on Mar. 19, 2014 at 6:47 PM
Not at all! He needs to step up
Bmat
by Ruby Member on Mar. 19, 2014 at 7:20 PM

Welcome!

Don't be critical of your partner. He is under stress also. It will probably take him a while even after Joshua is born to get used to the idea of being a daddy. Once little Joshua holds his finger and laughs into his eyes, things will start to change. Even then,  guide your partner, don't demand or criticize. Saying something like "grow up" will have only the effect of alienating him. Instead tell him a specific task or attitude that would make you more comfortable for him to have. Don't say it as though it is a failing on his part, it will only turn him off.

funhappymom
by on Mar. 20, 2014 at 7:58 AM

This...this exactly.

Quoting Bmat:

Welcome!