Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

I'm stuck. What would you do?

Posted by on Apr. 22, 2014 at 2:14 AM
  • 14 Replies
I've been working for a healthcare company as a nurse for two years. It's a good job, I really love my job...but it is a smaller company so sometime the census isn't stable and they have been pushing for a cut in hours. There is a lot of drama that goes on with the management, and I somehow get pulled into the middle of it (I have been there longer than anyone that works on my department, besides the owners). I'm always stuck cleaning up everyone else's mistakes, taking calls when I'm not on call (I have answered the phone from a patient while riding the dumbo ride at disneyland because the actual on call nurse couldn't handle it). I love my patients. I love the flexibility of my job and I am comfortable there.

I get offers from other companies all the time, but I always turn them down because I will only leave a job if I'm moving "up". Well, I got a call from a reputable company and got an offer. They have a stable census, seem to work as a team, only requires ONE on call day a month (and you get a day off during the week when you do work on call that day! It sounds so beautiful. Like a dream. I would consider it moving up, because it's moving from a small 50 patient census company to a 500 patient census company. The benefits are also amazing. The pay rate is a bit higher, though similar.

I know. The answer seems pretty clear. Take the offer! But I am a loyal person and it's not like my current job treats me horribly. The owners have been very accommodating to me, but a lot of their promises have fallen flat. (I tried to leave once before, they raised my pay, promised no on call (didn't happen), and that I would be promoted (didn't happen). This was a year ago).