Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Asst. Principal and Principal Adult Conflict Skills

Posted by on Mar. 18, 2017 at 7:43 PM
  • 6 Replies

I am a teacher. I began teaching when I was in my late twenties but then stayed home to be with my children and decided to homeschool them. I am not back in the workforce and teaching in public schools. 

I have to say that I am surprised that Assistant Principals and Principals lack the skills needed to handle adult conflicts. I have worked for other employers than schools and my bosses were always very good at dealing with conflicts among employees. They were managers of people who know how to listen well to both sides before making swift decisions on whose "side" to take. They were mostly neutral and tried to make the working environment a positive environment. 

I back away and realize that Assitant Principals and Principals are dealing with student issues all day. They have to deal with difficilt parents. They also have to make decisions constantly and usually very swiftly. This takes a very different skill set then dealing with teacher to teacher conflict. 

I personally do not like conflict of any type. I like to get along with everyone. But I find that many teachers, especially who have been around a while (possibly tenured or even not), like to throw their weight around and deal with others as if it will be their way or the highway. What shocks me is that when they run to the principal or assistant principal they are backed up and a new teacher like myself is reprimanded even though we are not in the wrong or doing anything unreasonable. 

This has happened to me in several situations and schools. I am a happy, positive and outgoing person. I work very hard doing my job and teaching my children. I treat everyone with high levels of respect-- custodian workers, cafeteria workers, assistants, teachers and administration.