Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Terrible Fours??

Posted by on Mar. 19, 2018 at 1:05 PM
  • 10 Replies
2 moms liked this
I'm brand new to CafeMom, and my main reason for joining is to gain advice on parenting a difficult child. My daughter is 4, and she has the nastiest attitude I have EVER seen in a child this young. My husband and I do our best to instill positivity, kindness, appreciation and open-mindedness in Paxton. And when she's good, she's the sweetest person alive. It's the bad times though.... they leave us asking "what have we done wrong?"
by on Mar. 19, 2018 at 1:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Bellabutt09
by New Member on Mar. 19, 2018 at 1:09 PM
Can I ask what kind of behavior? My daughter was the same until she got punishment. She would get timeouts and lose toys or movie times. It helps but you have to be consistent an stick with ut. Also give her options. Ex: if you behave this was you lose this toy for so many minutes. If you behave this was you get a choice of fun time. Things like this help them establish independence without the harsh punishments of spankings. It's tough but you are doing them a favor by being strict and teaching good behavior. Hope this helps! It did with my daughter but every child is different.
Pink.Sunshine
by Bronze Member on Mar. 19, 2018 at 2:51 PM
1 mom liked this
Sometimes it’s just the child’s temperament, sometimes it’s an underlying condition the child is reacting to. I’d start with my pediatrician & see if you can get a referral to counseling or therapy to find out why she’s behaving that way
_thegreenmomma
by New Member on Mar. 19, 2018 at 6:21 PM
1 mom liked this
We've tried various punishments, but it's her anger that is the biggest issue. With every punishment, her temper flares. I suppose the next step is meeting with her pediatrician.
Pink.Sunshine