Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Zoloft & breastfeeding?

Posted by on Jun. 9, 2007 at 1:49 PM
  • 7 Replies
Need your help badly. Looking for experiences b/c i know opinions can get heated on this subject. My OB says it's perfectly fine to continue breastfeeding while on Zoloft (50mg). The pediatrician does not suggest it. My breastfeeding book says Zoloft is the only antidepressant that is ok. Anyone have stories for me of experience with this. Having a hard time without more real life experiences...Help! xoxoMelanie
by on Jun. 9, 2007 at 1:49 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
Mamaz
by on Jun. 9, 2007 at 1:53 PM
ok. i'm a pharmacy technician. i'll check and see what it says about breastfeeding on that drug.

FDA approved drug handbook (i'm so special now j/k) it says:

Lactation: Enters breast milk/not recommended (AAp rates"of concern")

don't take it. find anothe kind
bunnyrh
by on Jun. 9, 2007 at 1:57 PM

I breastfed while taking Zoloft.  My family was up in arms about it (my aunt called every pharmicist in town and asked them if it was okay.  She was convinced I was killing my child). 

My OB said it was fine and so did my baby's doctor.  I called and specifically asked her pediatrician and I didn't even have to say "I'm taking Zoloft".  She said to me "Are you taking Zoloft?  Then I'm not worried about it."  It gave me a lot of peace to know that my pediatrician was supportive. 

Your OB wouldn't prescribe something that wasn't okay for baby if they know you are breastfeeding (lawsuit city!!!).  Not sure why your pediatrician doesn't approve.  As I said, mine did.  I also took Ativan while nursing.