Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

anyone quit smoking?

Posted by on Jun. 14, 2007 at 12:08 PM
  • 11 Replies
So I quit smoking for the baby and now I am coughing up nasty stuff and Im sick to my stomach. Everyone is telling me its because my lungs are cleaning themselves out but it just doesnt seem right to me. Has this happened to anyone?
by on Jun. 14, 2007 at 12:08 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
by on Jun. 14, 2007 at 12:11 PM
yes, that is normal. I quit smoking a month ago, & i'm still coughing up some nasty stuff. Not near as much as when I first quit, but just a little. & your stomach being upset, it could be b/c you're craving the nicotine. That's a withdrawal symptom. I got really bad headaches when I quit, but it effects people different ways. When did you quit? & congrats! :)
by on Jun. 14, 2007 at 12:12 PM
im a nurse and ihavent really heard of that before. smoking can thicken your saliva and that can cause you to hack up some nasty stuff, but your lungs cant magically cough up stuff and reverse the damage. lol. if you start seeing chuncks of flesh or blood in your sputum then make an appointment with yuor family doctor to see what is going on. you dont need to go to the e.r. because its probally not a huge deal and...e.r. bills are huge! lol
by on Jun. 14, 2007 at 12:15 PM
I quit smoking 7 years ago and I don't remember coughing anything up.  If it were me, I would talk to my doc about it.  It could be normal, but it could also be something else.

Oh, and congrats of quitting!!!!
by on Jun. 14, 2007 at 12:51 PM