Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Anyone babysit from home??

Posted by on Jul. 14, 2007 at 3:14 PM
  • 6 Replies
Hi Ladies,
 I was wondering if any of you SAHM's babysit from your home as well?  I am thinking about doing it this fall and just wondered how you like it and how much you charge and so on.  I have a bachelor's degree in elem. ed., but never got a full time teaching position.  I do not want to leave my son to go back to being a substitute so I thought this might be a better option.  Any info please let me know!  THANKS!!!
by on Jul. 14, 2007 at 3:14 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
MissLisaDyan
by on Jul. 14, 2007 at 3:21 PM
I actually babysit my friend's kids over the summer for 2 days a week... I charge her $15 per day per kid... If i were to actually have a daycare open, it would be more like $20-$25 per kid per day.... If you are going to be watching kids from more than one family, you will more than likley need a day care license...
nemiller
by on Jul. 14, 2007 at 3:26 PM
My husband's in the Marines and they have an in-home daycare program because all the daycares on base have long waiting lists.  When we move and I have the baby, I'm going to get licensed and do that instead of having an outside job.  It would cost about as much as I could make to afford the daycare just to have a job!  I'm sure it's going to be hard work (I've had full-time babysitting jobs before) but it's worth it to not worry about daycare for my child and make a little money.  I would suggest, though, that when you're talking to families, you set down specific guidelines for what you expect and what they expect.  I've seen a lot of people get walked all over by parents who show up late for pick-ups regularly, or expect you to watch kids every weekend, etc.
brownhoney21
by on Jul. 14, 2007 at 7:20 PM