Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Should I pay to repair it or pay twice the price for a new one? I'm really stumped!

Posted by on Jan. 27, 2009 at 2:24 PM
  • 9 Replies

Poll

Question: Repair at 69.00 or just buy a new machine at 200.00??

Options:

pay the 69.00 to repair

Just spend 200.00 for a brand new sewing machine

Only group members can vote in this poll.

Total Votes: 21

View Results

My 15-20 yr old sewing machine went ka-puut over the weekend. The bobbin gear is broken. It's a very simple sewing machine. As basic as you can get. It's a Brother brand. It cost about 150.00 ish - 15+ years AGO

The service center today says it will cost $69.00 to replace the gear that is broken. UGH! But, should I just pay the 69.oo to fix it or should I just buy a new machine?

I'm not a pro sewer. I just like my sewing machine for repairing clothes and easy/quick projects. So, I don't need one with fancy embroderiy or 100+ stiching...I just want the basics. I priced some sewing machines online at Walmart.. prices were from about $50-400.00 I'm guessing the ones $250+ have fancier stiching and do-dads.

But, someone also mentioned that the newer ones aren't as sturdy as the older machines. - I guess suggesting mine with metal parts is the better quality. Is that true?

by on Jan. 27, 2009 at 2:24 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
aarkat
by on Jan. 27, 2009 at 2:30 PM

i bought a sewing machine at costco a few years ago and it is soooo much easier to sew on than the old ones i learned on.  it's digital with buttons.  it's even got a button to replace the pedal!  it still has a pedal too, if you want to use it.   you thread the spool into it's little case, and it threads the machine and needle all by itself!  so easy!   and loads of stitches to choose from.