• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

medical providers....

Posted by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 4:22 PM
  • 21 Replies

Do you think that a nurse or doctor should be allowed to refuse to participate in certain procedures or treatments based on their religious beliefs....such as birth control, abortion, with holding IV fluids to a dying patient.  I am a nurse and am interested to hear what you have to say.

state your opinion - do NOT bash nurses and doctors.

by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 4:22 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
marina069
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 4:24 PM

no, its their job, i think it would be really hard to be part of a procedure that you don't believe in or think is morally wrong, but i think you have to separate your feelings from your job, jmo, not bashing, criticising or preaching

Lauri, mommy to 2 princesses

CTRedSoxMom
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 4:27 PM

Nope, I think if they are getting into the medical field they should be able to fully do whatever their job entails. If they have a problem with it, clearly that field is not for them and they should move on.

That would be like an employee at McDonald's refusing to serve a certain person because they are fat, or they do not agree with what they ordered or it is against their religion to serve someone of that color or background.

April is Cesarean Awareness Month! 

SusanD
by Gold Member on Apr. 8, 2009 at 4:28 PM