Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

WIC Mommies PLEASE Read (and bump if you don't answer)

Posted by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 5:41 PM
  • 321 Replies
1 mom liked this

The WIC post for me thinking... I used to be in politics before I was a mommy and I am a good writer (lousy typist, though, loll) and I am going to put together a letter to send to the President and the Surgeon General regarding how much WIC sucks. And then I am going to send it to my local reps, the governor, head of health and welfare, and so on... And then post it here and other mommies can sign their names and send it to their own reps via email...

so in order to do it and do it right... please tell me what you like about WIC and please tell me what changes you think need to be made to make a WIC a more effective ahd helpful program.

In the meantime, i am going to research some stuff.. like how much money is spent per mother or child on WIC per year... and then once I check out all OUR responses the plan I put together will (hopefully) include ways to make WIC more cost effective for the government. I will run all this by my political lobbyist friends... and get everything just perfect...

babys-first-easter01.gif  babys-second-easter1.gif

Stefanie~ Mom to Irish Twins Liam (7/07) and Molly (06/08)
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 5:41 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Lisa_729
by on Apr. 8, 2009 at 5:47 PM

I think that they need to cut down on the wait time for appointments.  Where I am right now, I have to wait anywhere from 30 to 60 minutes to meet with the WIC person for 10 minutes and then wait another 30 to 60 minutes to get my WIC checks.  And that is regardless of showing up a little early or one time like they ask.