Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

s/o...does delivering a baby make you mother?

Posted by on May. 8, 2009 at 1:09 PM
  • 30 Replies

I say no...that delivering a baby in itself does not make you a mother.

I think being a mother is more about the role you take from the day you find out you are pregnant. Mother is more than just what you did physically to bring a child into the world, but more about loving and caring for a child. I don't care if the child is a 12 week fetus that was lost to miscarriage or a thirty year old adult or an adopted child...if you mother that child, you are that child's mother.

I have some personal experience of women who delivered babies, but did not mother them. The other post made me realize that there are people out there that actually think that you're only a mother if you deliver a child, so it got me thinking.

What do you think? Is it solely about delivering a baby, or is it a lifestyle that you choose to live that makes you a mother?

Miles Peyton, 7/18/07

Jonas Alexander, 9/8/08

by on May. 8, 2009 at 1:09 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
by on May. 8, 2009 at 1:11 PM

Delivering a child makes you the biological parent but its takes more than delivering a child to make you a mother.

by on May. 8, 2009 at 1:12 PM

I think the only thing that matters in these cases, is how the actual person "mother" feels about one else's opinion really matters.

by on May. 8, 2009 at 1:14 PM

birthing a baby may make you a mother, biologically, but that doesn't mean much if your a POS. Anyone can make/have a baby... not everyone can be a mom/dad.

I also don't think the fact that you were pregnant makes you a mother either.. If I didn't have Becka I wouldn't celebrate this upcoming mother's day even though I am 38 weeks pregnant. Pregnancy doesn't make a mommy either.

by on May. 8, 2009 at 1:20 PM